Raining in Sheets – A poem by Enid Blyton


With all the wet weather we’ve been having, this poem from Blyton seemed to fit the bill:

My Mummy looked out of the window and said
“Dear me, what a terrible day!
It’s raining in sheets, so we can’t go out,
Indoors we must certainly stay.”

“Raining in sheets!” I said, most surprised.
“Oh, do let me see, please do!”
So I looked from the window, and, goodness me,
Mummy’s words were perfectly true!
It was raining in sheets – and down they came
Flapping like birds to the ground;
There were sheets enough for a hundred beds
Dropping down all around!

So now I am wondering if next time
It will rain down in blankets too!
I hope it does, it would be such fun
To bring in a dozen for you!

Originally published in Sunny Stories No.122 May 12, 1939. Copied from The Eleventh Holiday Book published in 1956 by Sampson Low.

Pörrö / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

