Julian’s News: Part 2


For those of you have been following the blog and have read my two previous posts of Enid Blyton fan fiction, this post will be no surprise for you. Well it might be, but hopefully not too much.

In case anyone needs a refresher, the first fan fiction I showed you all was a very simple idea of Julian heading off to an open day at St Andrews’ university and meeting Malory Towers’ Sally Hope. This little story was well received and I was inspired by a friend of mine (I hope he doesn’t mind me calling him a friend!) suggested that he wanted to see how the other members of the Famous Five would respond to Julian telling them he had a girlfriend. With my imagination in overdrive, that is exactly what I wrote about next. Last time  I wrote about Julian telling Dick about his new girlfriend, Sally Hope.

Now I know some of you were hoping for me to have produced the section of the story where Julian tells George or Anne about his new girlfriend. However, stories don’t work like that all the time, so I’m sorry if this has disappointed you but following on from last time, this is a short piece on the Five meeting up again after the boys’ journey down to Kirrin and setting up for the next part of the story.

I do hope you enjoy it! Happy reading!


BACK AT KIRRIN

The two boys stood on the platform as the steam from the train’s funnel hissed around them and waited for the crowds to clear off the platform. As the crowds thinned, the boys saw George and Anne looking for them further down the platform near the ticket office.

“George! Anne! Timmy!” Julian called to them, waving at the two girls and dog.

“Over here!” Dick added, also waving.

“There you are!” George called as she and Anne hurried up the platform to the two boys. George gave both of them a punch on the shoulder while Anne hugged her two brothers. She missed them when they were separated in term time.

Timmy tore around their ankles, barking joyfully; his four friends were once again under his protection. He licked the boys’ hands as he ran past them, woofing happily.

“Hallo girls,” Dick said when the train had puffed out of the station. “You’ve grown again Anne! Not so small anymore!”

“I should hope so, Dick,” Anne said, indignantly. She didn’t like it when Dick pointed out her height. “It’s not my fault that I’m younger than you!”

“Hush Anne,” Julian said, laying a hand on his sister’s shoulder. “You know Dick is only teasing you!”

Anne smiled good naturedly at her brothers.

“We’ve got the pony and trap waiting for you outside. We didn’t know how much luggage you would have!” George said, as she smiled. “Timmy do shut up. You’re being quite loud! Where are your manners?”

“Shake Tim!” Julian said, with a smile as the excited dog rushed past him again. Timmy barked happily and lifted a paw for Julian to shake. Everyone laughed.

“Not even Timmy dares to disobey you Julian,” Dick said, as he picked up his suitcase. Julian laughed and picked up his own suitcase.

“Lead the way girls,” he said with a chuckle.

“I see university hasn’t changed you Julian,” George said, scowling as he referred to her as a girl.

“Sorry old thing,” Julian said as they made their way to the pony trap. “A bad habit I’ve picked up, I’m afraid. Two of my friends at St Andrews are girls, so I’ve gotten a little used to saying that to them.” He slipped his arm through George’s and smiled down at her.

“If I promise not to do it again, will you forgive me?”

George laughed, her scowl disappearing from her face. Julian always knew the right thing to say to her. She was very fond of all her cousins, but her relationship with Julian had always been special. He had been the first to convince her to be friends with the other three.

“Come on, I’m hungry,” Dick complained as they reached the pony-trap and started to load their cases. “What is for dinner? Is it sausages?”

“What is it with you and your fascination with sausages?” Julian asked in amazement. “Anyone would think that you were never given any at school, and I know for a fact that you are!”

“True, but they’re not very nice sausages,” Dick said, earnestly. “The sausages Aunt Fanny cook are much nicer!”

“Woof!” Timmy agreed, as he jumped up on to the trap, thumping his tail gently against the wooden floor of the trap.

“See, Timmy agrees with me,” Dick said, as the others laughed.

“We’d better get going, otherwise we will be late for dinner,” Anne said, looking up at the station clock. The three siblings climbed into the back of the pony trap with Timmy while George got up on the seat and took up the reins of the horse’s bridle and started the trap towards home.

The four chatted away merrily as George drove them along the coast from the station to Kirrin Cottage. They laughed gaily and teased each other, making up for being separated in term time; but everyone had a slight feeling that things were not quite the same as they had once been. What with Julian having gone to university, adventures seemed quite out of the question.

“Have you told George and Anne what happened to you this term at St Andrews?” Dick asked his brother as George stopped the pony and trap on the cliff road where they could see their beloved Kirrin Island.

“What’s this?” Anne asked, her interest piqued. George turned to look at the boys and then stared at Julian.

“Yes, what happened Ju? What haven’t you been telling us?” George asked, as Julian and Dick stared at Kirrin Island.

“Honestly Dick, you are a rotten secret keeper” Julian teased his brother, before turning to address his cousin and sister. “I did mean to write to you about it, but I didn’t have time what with all the work I had to do. What Dick has just given away is the fact that I had a bit of an adventure over the term in St Andrews.”

“You had an adventure without us?” George asked in disbelief as she shook the pony’s reins to start moving again. She felt a keen sense of disappointment that Julian was going off and having adventures without the rest of them!

“What happened Ju?” Anne asked, her eyes shining at her brother.

“Well it’s a rather long story,” Julian said, with a wary glance at Dick, having noticed George’s less than impressed tone.  “I’ll tell you when we’ve got to Kirrin Cottage and unpacked, when we can sit around a nice fire with some of Joanna’s wonderful cakes.”

“How come you know about this adventure Dick?” Anne asked.

“Julian mentioned it to me on the train here,” Dick said, being careful to hide his grin. The only reason he had been told about the adventure was because Julian hadn’t wanted to leave the others out. “And such a spoil sport that he is, he wouldn’t tell me until you two were present. He’s being all too fair.”

“I think it’s only right that Julian doesn’t tell you something that we all want to hear,” George said as they drew up outside Kirrin Cottage. “Mother! We’re here!” She called as the other three and Timmy scrambled out of the trap.

George’s mother, the children’s Aunt Fanny, appeared at the cottage door.

“Hello Julian. Hello Dick! Haven’t you two changed since last summer,” Aunt Fanny said as the boys retrieved their cases from the trap and walked up to the cottage door. George had disappeared to put the pony and trap away, Timmy running alongside her.

“Hullo Aunt Fanny,” Julian said, putting his case down and giving his Aunt a warm hug. He was very fond of her.

“Hallo Aunty,” Dick said, as they managed to get in the house. Anne shutting the door behind them.

“What’s for dinner?” Dick asked, as he deposited his suitcase on the floor. “I’m awfully hungry.”

“Some things never change,” Anne said with a laugh as George appeared with Timmy through the kitchen.

“I’ve got a nice meat pie in the oven for you all,” Aunt Fanny said with a smile. “Now why don’t you boys go and unpack? There’s about half an hour before dinner.”

“Why don’t you, come and help us unpack, George and Anne, and I’ll fill you in on the adventure I had?” Julian asked them.

“All right,” George said, as Anne nodded and they followed the boys upstairs.

The girls sat on Julian’s bed as the boys unpacked and Julian told them about his term time adventure, the stolen papers and the smuggling. He praised his new friends highly and told George, Anne and Dick everything about the adventure that they wanted to know.

“So there you have it,” Julian said, after a short while. “That’s what happened.”

“Oh Ju, it sounds thrilling,” Anne said. “How clever of you to work everything out like that!”

“Very impressive,” Dick said honestly.

“Sounds very exciting, although I still can’t believe you had an adventure without us!” George said, sounding a little sulky.

“Don’t be like that George. It wasn’t my fault that it happened to me,” Julian said, sitting down next to her and putting an arm around her shoulders. “You three know that I would have had you there with me if I could have done.”

George managed to smile at him.

“Still it sounds wonderfully thrilling,” George said. “And to think that father’s papers almost got stolen as well.”

“It also goes to prove that there are a few scientists out there who are exactly like Uncle Quentin when it comes to losing important papers,” said Dick shrewdly as the gong went for dinner. “Brilliant!” He added jumping to his feet. “I’m starving!”

“You’re always starving!” The other three chorused as Dick lead the way out of the room and downstairs to the kitchen.

The meal was a jolly one, with plates piled high with mouth watering food. The pie was just right, with gravy, potatoes and fresh vegetables.

“Smashing, Aunt Fanny,” Dick said, afterwards leaning back in his chair. “Well on my way to being fattened up for Christmas!”

“You don’t need fattening up,” Julian retorted rudely.

Anne and George giggled.

“I hope you’ll have room for pudding then Dick, it’s sticky toffee pudding,” Aunt Fanny said, smiling fondly at her nephew.

“Smashing!”  Julian said before Dick could say it.

Everyone had to laugh.

“Julian, how has your first term at St Andrews been? I did hear about how you helped one of your uncle’s colleagues out with some missing papers, but Quentin was very vague on the details,” Aunt Fanny said over her coffee cup a while later after pudding had been devoured. “I hope that all this mystery solving didn’t interfere with your work at all!”

“I assure you Aunt Fanny, I would never let mystery solving interfere with my work, and I have a very good friend, Sally, who wouldn’t let me forget that I had work to do,” Julian said with a smile. “Anyway, it was a one off. I highly doubt that anything much will happen again while I’m at St Andrews.”

His Aunt smiled at him. “I do hope so, Julian,” she said. “You might like to look in at your Uncle before you head up to bed this evening. I think he would like a word with you.” Julian nodded as Dick sniggered.

That evening as Anne and George got ready for bed, something Anne had been wanting to say to George since they had returned to Kirrin Cottage, finally came out.

“Julian certainly has grown up this term hasn’t he George?” Anne said, as she folded back her bed sheets.

“He’s still the same old Julian though,” George said, as she scrambled into bed. Timmy jumped up after her and settled on her feet.

“Yes he is, but have you noticed how he keeps dropping that girl Sally’s name into conversation?” Anne asked as she climbed into bed and settled down to look at George in the bed opposite her.

George gave Anne a non-committal grunt as a response.

“They may just be very good friends,” George muttered a moment later as Anne rolled on to her back at George’s grunt.

“Perhaps,” Anne said thoughtfully. “Its strange to think that Julian might have a girlfriend.”

“Go to sleep Anne,” George said sleepily.

“Night George,” Anne said with a little sigh, but her cousin had already fallen asleep.

This entry was posted in Fan Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Julian’s News: Part 2

  1. Gerry Francis Kelly says:

    What a brilliant little essay – Stef has surpassed herself. It seems so right for the characters – she has captured them perfectly. The situation viz-a-viz Julian and George is intriguing. We will await developments!
    Francis (proud to call you a friend,Stef).

    Like

  2. Michael Edwards says:

         Just discovered these stories – interesting to see scenes of the Five in (slightly) later life.
         But I’m a bit puzzled by the references to this adventure Julian had, involving Uncle Quentin’s stolen papers: I have just read the first, second, and third (current) stories, and it is first mentioned in the third, but doesn’t seem to be covered in the earlier ones.
         Is this covered in another story you have somewhere else? Is there an index anywhere which lists all the stories?
         Thanks.

    Regards, Michael.

    Like

    • pippastef says:

      Michael,

      The story I have posted here is indeed a sequal to a longer story I have already completed. I know it was bad of me to illude to something that people have not read but one, I assumed they would take it in their stride which it appears most have, two, that Julian going to university would have been an adventure in itself and three, the story that precedes these pieces is no where near ready for public attention. It needs a lot of work and attention to writing structure and beta reading before I could even hope to post any of it on our blog which is such a high standard thanks to Fiona. I hope you can forgive me for my error and enjoy what I have written at it stands.
      If you prefer I can always email you the non perfect version.

      Stef

      Like

      • Michael Edwards says:

             No, that’s all right, Stef – I was just puzzled, that’s all – and wondering if I’d overlooked something that might be elsewhere. I guess it will appear when you think it’s ready – I would be reluctant to post a story which was still not right, and then have to change it.
             Thanks for your clarification.

        Regards, Michael.

        Like

Leave a Reply

