Made for Monday


First of all, I think I have to mention that this week is the week of the Enid Blyton Society meeting at Beckenham for a tour of Enid Blyton’s early houses. This week also deserves a special mention because it’s the first time in over six months that Fiona and I will see each other.

If I remember correctly the last time we met up, we started this blog! Now doesn’t that seem like an awfully long time ago? It does to me! Let’s hope that when we meet up, that we don’t decide to take on ANOTHER venture. The blog certainly keeps us busy enough!

After the weekend hopefully we’ll have a whole new load of ideas and things to blog about so stay tuned for the exciting blogs to come!

Having just come back from holiday (only to be thrown straight back into work!) I find myself rather haphazard in my Monday post, so I hope you’ll forgive me. (I’m afraid that I didn’t really go anywhere Blyton-y, more Saville-y. I headed up to Shropshire, the location of many of Malcolm Saville’s books (for those of you who remember my Julian Kirrin vs David Morton article, you will know who I’m talking about). Anyway, I had a great time, walked for miles and miles, had some lovely weather and took LOTS of photographs as well as landscapes I got some VERY lucky shots of the wildlife.

Anyway, this week on the blog – well, there is a lot of choice. Last week we had Ben’s latest Secret Seven blog, and I think this week we’ll put up Poppy’s Book of the Month, which is House-at-the-Corner.

From me, I’ve pretty much decided to put up June’s flowers so you’ll have enough time to check out some of these impressive blooms.

I’m afraid I don’t know what Fiona will treat you to! Possibly her next Adventure Series review, or something completely wonderful and surprising!

So if you want to find out what flowers you should be looking for this month, what Poppy thought of the House-at-the-Corner, and what delight Fiona is treating us to, you better make sure to check the blog this week!

For the moment I shall leave you with a few of my favourite pictures from last week, including one or two of the more exciting wildlife pictures I managed to capture!

Enjoy!

All photographs © Stephanie Woods 2013, so please don’t use any without her permission.
This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made for Monday

  1. Corinna says:

    AWESOME pics Stef!

    Like

  2. chrissie777 says:

    Thank you, Stef, for so many beautiful pics. And they gave me two new locations to discover on future trips to the UK: Clun bridge and Stokesay Castle.
    You mentioned that you are a fan of Malcolm Saville’s books (I assume that you have the link for his website), so I was wondering if you had a chance to read “Treasure at the Mill”?
    It’s very Blyton-y and the mill still does exist today outside of Colchester, Essex. It’s Ardleigh Mill.
    “Treasure at the Mill” has been filmed with the former owners of Ardleigh Mill plus Richard Palmer who played Julian in the 1957 “Five on a Treasure Island” movie. In “Treasure at the Mill” he plays John Adams, the main character who is on a treasure hunt for his family jewels.
    I bought the DVD (with lots of bonus features) a few years ago in amazon.co.uk and it’s really a perfect adaptation of the book by Saville.

    Like

Leave a Reply

