The Missing Pages: A St Andrews Adventure Chapter Three


So here we are with Chapter 3. I know it’s a fan fiction overload this week, but honestly my inspiration for much else is rather low at the moment.

Chapters one and two can be found by clicking on the links.

I’m sorry for the longer than usual chapter chunk, but I couldn’t find a good place to stop it before there!

Enjoy!


Darrell and Sally met up in the lunch hall after their separate lectures. Darrell put her bag down on the lunch table in front of her best friend with a thump, sighing in a frustrated manner.

“What’s the matter Darrell?” Sally asked sympathetically, looking up from the book she was reading. “You sound as though you’ve had the worst time of your life,” she said marking her place in the book with her finger and watching her best friend as she sat down opposite her.

Darrell looked at Sally as she sat down heavily in her chair. “This place is a maze,” she groaned pushing her fringe back off her forehead. “I got lost twice on my way to my lecture in English Classics, and then once again trying to remember the way to this place.” She sighed and shook her head. “I know I’ll get used to it, like I did at Malory Towers, and I thought it was going to take me a long time to get used to finding my way around there, but it is just so maddening not knowing my way around the university yet.” She sighed and looked at her friend. “How was your first lecture? Not as much as a disaster getting to it as mine I hope?” Sally smiled a little.

“Not nearly as much trouble as you had by the sounds of it,” Sally said quietly. “It was quite easy for me my lecture was just off this hall.” She smiled a little. “There are certainly some interesting girls on my course. Quite harmless, yet rather snobbish like dear old Gwen at school.” She chuckled a little dryly. “Any decent school would have drummed that out of anyone half decent to begin with by now,” she added in her usual sensible fashion.

Darrell shared her smile. “My thoughts exactly,” she said grinning, “I can’t believe that there are still girls like that in my course as well. I’m surprised they didn’t bring a governess or a minder.” She grinned and then shook her head.

“I suppose we really shouldn’t be assuming that these girls are actually like that once you get to know them of course,” she added fairly. “I mean, there is a chance they could be pretty decent underneath all the pretence and nonsense they seem to feel the need to throw out.”

“Why my dear Darrell,” Sally laughed, “anyone would think that you’d come here to study psychology, not English.”

Darrell joined in her laughter and smiled as she looked around the hall.

“Have you seen Alicia and Betty yet?” she asked, turning back to Sally, but as she turned around someone familiar caught her attention from the corner of her eye. The young man she had met this morning, was sitting on the other end of the long table; talking to a sandy haired boy Darrell thought she’d bumped into that morning on her way to her lecture. She smiled to herself, and turned her attention back to Sally, but her friend had already noticed the momentary lapse in Darrell’s attention. Sally craned her neck so she could get a look at what Darrell was looking at.

“Who’s he?” Sally asked critically as she followed Darrell’s gaze.

“Oh, just someone I met this morning on my walk around the university grounds,” Darrell said shrugging mildly, as if she was not entirely interested.

Sally chuckled quietly to herself. “So you did meet someone on your travels this morning. Has he got a name?” Sally asked grinning at her friend. Darrell considered sending Sally a withering look, but stopped herself just in time. Her friend was really enjoying herself far too much.

“Julian Kirrin,” Darrell said mildly, “He’s here doing physics. Apparently he’s the nephew of that famous scientist, Quentin Kirrin? You know, that professor who’s been in the papers a lot recently, with the new idea of creating heat and energy for almost nothing?” Darrell prompted.

“I think I recall the name,” Sally said smiling a little. She looked around at Julian who was getting up to leave. “He doesn’t look like the type to follow in his uncle’s footsteps.”

Darrell shrugged and pulled out one of the books from her bag. “I don’t know if I’m honest. I didn’t exactly ask,” she said carefully finding her page. She looked at her friend over the top of the book. “Have we got any plans for this evening?” she asked, smiling a little.

“Well I have heard that the debate society is throwing open its doors tonight, its invitation only for the rest of the year,” Sally said mildly. “Should we wander along and see if there if it is as good as it sounds?” she asked her best friend.

Darrell smiled a little. “I like the sound of that,” she said happily. “It could be some fun. Apparently they have some very good debates on here, should be fun to watch,” she agreed.

Sally smiled as she stood up. “I’ve got another lecture to get to now. What are you doing this afternoon?” She asked tucking her book under her arm as she lifted her bag on to her shoulder.

Darrell looked up and shrugged a little. “I’m not entirely sure. I am fairly inclined to go and investigate the library,” she admitted smiling. “I’ve not got another lecture until tomorrow morning, so I might as well make some use of my time and do the reading I was set just now. So, I’ll either be in the library or in our room when you get out. When does your lecture finish?” she asked Sally.

“I should be finished at three,” Sally said promptly, like a women who had completely memorised her timetable already.

Darrell chuckled. “Well then, you’d better come and find me when you’ve finished, because I don’t know where I’ll be. I may walk into town at some point this afternoon as well,” she added. “It would be nice to have a look around.”

Sally grinned.“Well for goodness sake, wait for me! I don’t want to be wandering around this university looking for you, making myself look like a fool,” she said laughing as she turned to go. “I’ll see you in a few hours!” she called over her shoulder before hurrying out of the big hall.

Julian was glad to get off the campus and have a chance to look around the town surrounding the university. He found he liked David’s company; he didn’t talk very much as a rule, only when there was something that needed saying, and he liked him a lot for this; it was a change from feeling like there had to be a flowing conversation going on as they walked.  Neither boy mentioned getting the bus into the town centre, both liking to walk. This unanimous decision was confirmed when Julian said mildly, “It’s much too nice a day to take the bus, and anyway, I could certainly use a nice long walk. It felt like a long time in that car yesterday.”

David replied with, “Yes, I agree.” The boys didn’t feel the need to say anything beyond that as they made their way down to the town.

When they reached the town centre, they walked along the high street, pointing out little places that might be of interest and taking in their surroundings. There were plenty of little shops along the cobbled streets. A lot of shops were displaying golfing equipment. Julian raised an eyebrow and turned from one shop window to look at David.

“I think I now know where I’ll get my father’s Christmas present from,” Julian said laughing a little as he shook his head.

David laughed as well. “Me too actually; my father’s a keen golfer. So is my mother. I used to caddy for them an awful lot during the summer hols,” David explained simply. He smiled at Julian, and shrugged. “However, there’s three whole months before we even have to start thinking about Christmas,” he said chuckling. “And a lot can happen in three months,” he stated almost knowledgeably.

Julian laughed. “This is very true,” he agreed with his friend. “Anything can happen,” he said as their walk found them in front of a small news agent.

Julian looked up at the name over the shop and shrugged at David, only pausing to say; “you would have thought there would be a news agent nearer the university,” before putting his hand on the door and pushing it open. The bell over the door jingled at their entrance, announcing the two boys to the shop’s owner.

“You could ask and see if they deliver papers to the university or the halls,” David suggested following Julian into the shop. “That is if you don’t want to have to make the walk every day.”

He smiled a little as a little old man appeared behind the counter. He looked at the boys and smiled back.

“Ah fresh young faces, you boys must be new to the university,” he said clapping his hands together, still smiling. “Now what can I do for you boys?” he asked resting his hands on the counter.

“Two of today’s papers please,” David said after a nod from Julian. The old man smiled and took two copies of the paper out of the rack behind him. The boys put the money for the papers down on the counter. Julian picked up his paper and tucked it under his arm and as David scanned the front page asked the old man behind the counter; “I don’t suppose you deliver papers to the university do you?”

The old man shook his head sadly. “You’re not the first person to ask me that today, laddie, but I’m afraid I don’t. If I get a few more people wanting papers from here, then I shall consider having one of my paper boys making a special delivery up there, but as it is, I’ve not had much interest.” The old man shrugged, “though that young chap this morning seemed quite upset when I said I didn’t. He looked rather like a foreigner, but who am I to judge?” he asked the two boys.

Julian and David smiled politely.

“Well, thank you for your help,” Julian said as the boys turned to leave the shop. “I’m sure we’ll be back,” he said as David opened the door and stepped outside.

David turned and smirked a little at Julian when the door had closed behind them. “That old boy was about to launch into one terrific rant, I could feel it,” David chuckled shaking out his paper.

Julian let out a small laugh, before a word on the front page of David’s paper caught his eye.

Quickly, Julian shook out his own paper and located the offending word. There was a small section on his uncle’s latest work on the front page. Julian sighed and shook his head as he read the little section of story, turning impatiently to the third page where the story continued.

“Hey! David, look at this,” he said shaking his paper out so he could read the words better. “Our physics professor’s in the paper! He’s been working with my uncle!” he said his eyes scanning the page excitedly. “My, my, it is a small world isn’t it?” He shook his head as they  moved out of the way of people pushing past them to continue their daily shop.

David chuckled a little as they walked. “My, my?” he asked raising an eyebrow. “You’re not a middle aged woman underneath all that are you Julian?” he teased.

Julian shook his head at David. “Just something I seem to have picked up from my mother. She walks around saying it all the time.”

David smiled and looked back at his own paper. “Well I don’t expect the old boy even knows he’s in the paper, but surely it’s a bit of a risk actually having his place of employment and name in the paper. What happens if some foreign power decides to try and steal the documentation of his experiments?” he asked his brow furrowing as he thought about the consequences. “The security in the university isn’t exactly that hard to bypass.”

Julian shrugged. “It happened to my uncle once. His top secret papers were actually stolen from the house and all the doors were locked.”

David looked shocked at this revelation. “How on earth were they able to steal your uncle’s papers then?” he asked intrigued. “There must have been some way they were able to get in through, a secret passage or something of that kind?”

Julian looked at David and chuckled. “Nothing quite as thrilling as a secret passage,” he admitted. “There was a small window in the pantry that was swollen and wouldn’t shut, and when I was locking up that night I was told that it wouldn’t shut and to leave it, but idiot I was, I didn’t lock the pantry door did I? So one of the thieves, well daughter of one of the thieves, called Jo, slipped through the window and let the thieves in through the front door and locked up after them when they’d forced the safe. Jo left through the window. It was completely baffling at the time I can tell you.”[1]

David sat for a minute to absorb this information that Julian had supplied him with. He looked at Julian. “You know the girl who broke into your house?!” David asked surprised. “I’m not even sure how that would work,” he admitted his brow furrowed in concentration again.

Julian smirked a little. “It’s a long story. I’ll tell you when the long winter evenings are drawing in and we’ve got time on our hands.”

David chuckled. “We’ve got time on our hands now,” he pointed out laughing.

Julian chuckled, “Oh I know, but it’s not something I feel like talking about to be honest,” he shook his head.

“Alright, but one last question, did your uncle get his papers back in the end?” David asked persistently.

Julian nodded.

“Then that’s alright then,” David said, smiling. He sat back against the bench and looked up at the bright blue sky with a few clouds scurrying past.

Julian didn’t say anything for a few minutes as he flicked through the rest of his paper.  He made sure that he checked the weather report for the next couple of days before he folded up the paper a short while later. He sat back yawned, also looking at the sky for a short while before David spoke.

“I think it’s probably about time I found some food, I’m beginning to get quite hungry,” David said lowering his eyes from the sky and scanning the high street for a bakers or café where he would be able to get himself something to eat.

Julian nodded and said, “I think there’s a little cafe back the way we came.” He got up and slipped his paper into his bag. “We can always head back down this way later if we feel like it,” he said swinging his bag on to his shoulder. David nodded and got to his feet.

“Lead on,” he said motioning Julian to take the lead.

Sally slipped out of her lecture hall two hours after she had left Darrell in the dining room and made her way up to their shared room, talking to a few of the girls in her history class as she went. The girls were pleasant enough and it was nice to know that she was well on her way to making some new friends.  She said her goodbyes as they reached her room and waited until they were walking away to open her door. She slipped in and looked around; Darrell was not there, so Sally decided that she must be in the library as she said she would be. Sally smiled to herself and took her heavy text books from her bag and put them on her desk, before turning on her heel and heading  back out of the door, making sure that she locked it before she set off to try and find the library.

Sally didn’t rush, she’d been let out early from her lecture and Darrell wouldn’t be expecting her to turn up before three. She wandered contentedly through the corridors and down staircases until she reached the busy ground floor.

Sally knew that the get the feel for the university’s main building and campus properly she would have to take an hour or so one day and just get herself lost in the long corridors. She wandered out of the building and was heading along the pathway to the library when a tall boy with dark, curly hair rushed past her, bumping into her as he went. Sally frowned as she caught herself before she fell over and stared at the boy’s retreating back over her shoulder.

“How rude of him,” she muttered to herself as she straightened her clothes.

“Are you alright?” a male asked voice behind her. Sally turned on the spot and smiled at the tall boy who was advancing towards her. He had a posh southern accent and brown hair.

“I’m fine thank you,” she said smiling at the stranger. “I just find it rude that people don’t stop to check if you’re alright when they’re the ones who have bumped into you,” she said shrugging. “But no harm done. Thank you for asking though,” she added gratefully.

“Not a problem,” the boy said smiling. “I just thought I’d better check that you were alright when I saw him bump into you and not stop. I’m Thomas Ainsworth, by the way,” he added holding out a hand for Sally to shake.

She shook his hand and grinned bashfully.“I’m Sally Hope. Thank you for coming to my almost rescue,” shey said laughing a little shyly. She wasn’t terrific with new people and this was really her first conversation with a boy who wasn’t in some way connected to her family or one of her friends from home.

Thomas smiled down at her and waved off her thanks. “It was a pleasure,” he said smoothly. “It’s not every day I have a chance to almost save a lovely lady, such as yourself,” he said flatteringly.

Sally felt herself blush at his compliment.  She gave herself a little shake and smiled at the boy before making her excuses.

“Thank you again,” she said politely. “Now if you could excuse me, I have to go and meet my friend.” She readjusted her bag and holding out a hand for Thomas to shake.

Thomas took her hand and shook it politely. “Of course. I expect I shall see you around Miss Hope, and hopefully next time we meet it won’t be an attempted rescue,” he said charmingly before dropping her hand and walking off.

Sally forced herself to turn away and not watch the boy as he walked away from her. She sighed and gave herself a little shake, before straightening her clothes and heading off towards the library, where she hoped to find Darrell.

Sally pushed the door to the library open and slipped inside. She smiled to herself as she walked along the shelves, looking for Darrell, who she supposed would be sitting at one of the desks provided for people to work at. Sally smiled to herself as she made her away towards the 800 section of the Dewey decimal system, where the English books were kept, hoping to find her friend somewhere around there.  Walking between shelves, Sally came across a small study area and spied her friend working, pen in hand as she scanned over the pages of a book in front of her. Sally walked over to her best friend and sat down in the next desk and waited for Darrell to acknowledge her presence.

“One moment,” Darrell murmured as she scribbled furiously, her eyes not leaving the page in front of her as her finger weighed the books pages down so she could get the information she needed out of it.

“Take your time old thing,” Sally said calmly, sitting back in the chair and putting her bag on the floor. She looked around the small work space and looked out of the window, her gaze settling on the university’s playing fields where a few of the second and third year teams were playing some pass games with a rugby ball.

Darrell was in the middle of doing some of her set work for her next seminar, when Sally had sat down and although she wanted to talk to her friend, she knew she should get this last little piece of her work written before she started talking. She knew that Sally would understand. Darrell checked what she had written one last time before she put her pen down and turned to Sally.

“There, all done,” she said with a sigh of relief. She turned to her friend and smiled. “Sorry about that, I just wanted to get it done and over with,” she said chuckling as she closed the book and put her pad of paper back into her bag. She looked up at Sally who was still staring out of the window.

Sally pulled herself back to earth as she heard Darrell speak. “It’s alright,” she said, smiling. “I am earlier than I said I would be the lecturer let us out early.”

Darrell grinned at her friend. “Not a problem,” she said. “You want to head out and walk down to the town?” she asked, standing up and swinging her bag over her shoulder.

Sally looked up at Darrell and was picking up her bag to go when she heard two male voices heading in their direction.  Darrell looked around, and Sally followed her gaze.

“What are you looking at?” Sally asked as she fiddled with the strap of her bag.

Darrell shook her head grinning at Sally. “Just thought I heard a familiar voice,” she said, chuckling.

Sally smiled as she started forward to lead the way out of the library.

Darrell followed her through the book cases, carrying the books she had just been working from. Sally turned as she walking and asked her friend, “Shouldn’t you really put those back?”

Darrell followed her gaze to the books under her arm.  She gave a grin and chuckled a little. “Well I was going to take them out. I’ve still got a little bit more work to do,” she admitted quietly.

“Well why don’t you do it now?  We don’t have to go into town today,” Sally said quietly. “I don’t mind having a look around the book shelves while you work. It wouldn’t be problem.”

Darrell pursed her lips. “I was rather looking forward to going into town,” she admitted quietly, staring wide eyed at her best friend.

Sally chuckled a little, “well, town’s not going anywhere, and I could benefit from spending some time in here.”

Darrell sighed, “I suppose you have a point, like usual.” She smiled at Sally and gave her a light punch on her shoulder. “Alright you win. Let’s go back then,” she said turning on her heel and coming face to face with Julian.

Julian chuckled a little and put his hand out to stop Darrell from falling over.  “Steady there,” He said taking a step back. He smiled at her as he said teasingly, “I can’t seem to go anywhere in this university without bumping into you.”

Darrell laughed a little. “It is certainly beginning to look that way,” she said, smiling as she too stepped back, more in line with Sally.

Sally looked carefully at Julian, whom Darrell had pointed out to her in the lunch hall earlier. Sally carefully took in everything about him, and the boy standing next to him. Sally noted that he didn’t look like he was physicist; she thought he looked like he was at St Andrews on a sport’s scholarship rather than to study something like physics. Sally knew well enough though, not to judge a book by its cover. She smiled at the two boys as Darrell introduced her, and Julian introduced the girls to his friend David.

“Are you girls thinking of heading over to the debate society meeting later?” David asked after a few moments of idle chit chat. They had retreated to the desks where the girls had been working as there was no one else around.

“Sally mentioned the meeting earlier,” Darrell said motioning to her friend. “We thought we might go. Were you two thinking of heading along as well?” she asked, interested.

“We were thinking we might give it a go,” David said as Julian nodded, before leaning over to a book case and picking up a dusty looking volume from the shelf.

David looked at the cover of the book as Julian opened it and scanned down the page. “Recommended reading?” he asked raising an eyebrow.

Julian nodded. “Yes,” he said simply, snapping the book shut and laying it on the table in front of him. “I dislike the idea of having to read up on radioactive isotopes, but I suppose we must do,” he said, frowning.

“You really don’t like anything do with building bombs do you?” David asked carefully.

Julian raised an eyebrow and shook his head. “No, I don’t like the idea of bombs of any sort, especially radioactive ones,” he said quietly. “And I know that not all radioactive isotopes are going to be used for bombs, but the idea is there, and even having to read about them is a little disconcerting.”

“I assume they’re not actually going to let a laboratory full of boys play around with anything radioactive in the first place are they?” Darrell asked raising an eyebrow as she picked up the book and studied it.

“I shouldn’t think they would,” David said shrugging. “We weren’t told in our first lecture that we would be handling anything like that.”

“Then why do you have to read up about them?” Sally asked taking the book from Darrell and inspecting it with scrutiny.

“We have to understand why the isotopes are radioactive and how they become that way,” Julian explained shrugging. “It’s a rather dull process.”

“I suppose you’ve got more of an interest in the sort of things your uncle is famous for?” Darrell asked as Sally handed the book back to Julian. Julian took it and placed it back on the table in front of him with mild disgust.

“If I’m honest, I would rather do something to try and help mankind rather than something that allows one nation to blow up another,” he said honestly.

“You know, you say that now, but if you can’t get on a research project like that, then surely the only money is in helping to develop nuclear weapons?” Sally asked archly.

Julian raised an eyebrow at her, slightly surprised. He was even more surprised at his sudden liking for this blonde girl who wasn’t afraid to challenge him and make her point. He found himself quite liking the fact that they could argue; it was refreshing after having people agree with him. She certainly was very forthright and honest.

“Not necessarily. There are other things you can do with a physics degree,” Julian said mildly trying not to smirk.

“Not many options though surely?” Sally asked, “Nothing completely removed from war and inflicting pain and terror into the lives of others?”

“I think it really depends on where you’re looking for work,” David said hurrying to Julian’s defence. “There’s always teaching,” he said simply.

Sally allowed herself a nod of consent at that suggestion.

“Maybe we should move out of here,” Darrell said looking out of the window. “It’s quite a nice afternoon. Why be inside when you can be out?” she asked as she picked her bag up off the floor.

“And it’s not like we’ll be able to enjoy warm sunshine for much longer,” Julian agreed standing up. He picked up the book and shouldered his bag.

The four of them walked slowly towards the exit, quietly chatting as they moved past the librarian’s desk.

“You go on,” Julian said moving off towards the desk, where a stern looking woman with white hair in a bun was sitting in a chair and appeared to be mending some books. “I have to get this out,” he said waving the book vaguely in the air. Julian gently put the book down on the desk in front of the librarian and waited patiently for her to look up and sign the book out. The other three meandered slowly out of the library and into the warm early September air.

Darrell lifted her face to the sky and closed her eyes savouring the feeling of the sun on her face. Sally chuckled at her and exchanged amused looks with David, who grinned back.

“If you don’t mind me asking, how long have you two known each other?” David asked slipping his hands in his pockets while they waited for Julian to catch up.

Sally looked at Darrell and smiled before she said, “We’ve known each other for six years. We started boarding school on the same day.” She paused and smiled secretively, “although it was a little while before we became friends,” she added.

Darrell looked down from her sky gazing and smiled at Sally. “However, that didn’t stop us from becoming best friends,” she said happily slipping her arm through Sally’s, as Julian came out of the library.

“Did you manage to get that book out then?” David asked as Julian walked out of the library doors.

Julian nodded, holding his bag steady so he could put the book in his bag as he walked. He looked around and headed over to where they were standing.

“Yes, that was pretty simple. I’ve got to bring it back for next week,” he added. “Which should be fine because there’s only a couple of chapters that need to be read before the next lecture,” he said shrugging his back pack on to his shoulders and settling it on his back so he it was comfortable.

“Shall we go and find somewhere to sit?” Darrell asked smiling. “Not that I don’t like standing here, but I think we’re getting in the way,” she added as a second year student pushed past them and through the library doors.

“Lead on,” Julian said motioning a hand forward to indicate that Darrell should lead the way.

Darrell flashed him a smile and turned on her heel down a long open corridor that led to the shady quadrangle where she had bumped into Julian that morning. She made her way over to a bench that sat in the shade and sat down lightly on it. Sally joined her and the two boys sat themselves down on the floor.

“I forgot to mention,” Sally said after a moment of awkward silence as the four of them looked for something to say. “I almost got knocked over on my way to meet you at the library. Some boy with dark hair just pushed straight past me,” she said shrugging.

“Was he a tall boy?” David asked intrigued, his brain glimmering with an idea.

“Well, he was fairly tall I suppose. I didn’t get a very good look at him,” Sally admitted quietly looking a little puzzled at David’s question.

“Sounds like one of the boys in our physics class,” David said shrugging at Sally’s surprised face. “He almost ran into the professor with a trolley of equipment this morning,” he added as by way of an explanation. Julian allowed himself a small smirk.

“He didn’t look happy when he ran into me,” Sally remarked, raising an eyebrow as she did so at Julian’s small smirk.

“Well, he’s appears to always be running places. I wonder if he’s heard the phrase, less speed, more haste,” David remarked settling back on the grass a little to get a little more comfortable. “Anyway, it was of no real importance. I just wondered if it was him,” he added grinning.

Julian’s adventurous mind was lost however as the others around him moved on from the suspicious boy from physics. He was running over his behaviour and how odd it seemed. Julian didn’t want to judge the boy from the things he’d seen and heard about him but he had to admit that he was curious about him. It seemed odd as well that people weren’t staring and pointing at him like they were doing with every other foreign looking fellow on the streets at this time. Julian suspected that it was just first week jitters, and when everyone had settled in there would be more pointing and secretive looks about the boy. He wondered if it was worth trying to get to know him; he didn’t seem to hang around with anybody at the moment and being in a different country would surely knock someone for six. Julian wondered how good the boy’s English was, but then remembered that he didn’t even know the boy’s name. Julian shook his head a little, trying to clear his suspicious thoughts and dive back into the conversation.

“So which halls are you in?” Darrell was asking David.

“I’m in St Salvator’s halls, the same ones as Julian; however I’m two floors below him.” David said smiling a little. Julian nodded in agreement.

“So is that how you two met then?” Sally asked sitting back against the wooden slats of the bench. Julian shook his head and David laughed a little.

“No we met on the train yesterday,” said Julian. “He appeared in the compartment and and we just started talking. It would have been rude not to let him tag along now,” he added, grinning as he teased David.

“It’s rather a strike tactic I’m afraid,” David apologised, grinning like an idiot. “You looked uncomfortable anyway!” He added laughing at Julian’s face.

Julian grimaced and then laughed.

“Which halls are two in?” David asked smirking at Julian. He looked at the girls as they were speaking.

“We are sharing a room in university halls,” Darrell said smiling. “It’s not too bad.”

“It’s a nice big room,” Sally said smiling. “We shared a study in the last year of school so we should get along fairly well[2]. Darrell has never annoyed me yet,” she added teasing her best friend, gently giving her arm a little squeeze.

Darrell laughed. “Yes, we are fairly suited to living together, that is for sure,” she chuckled. She smiled at the others and just took a moment to relax and enjoy the feeling that she didn’t have to be anywhere at are particular time. She enjoyed the fact that she didn’t have to rush off and complete a piece of work and then head straight for the next lesson. It was a strange experience not to be rushed off her feet sorting out meetings, books and work.  She sat back in her seat and enjoyed the feeling of freedom.  She watched the other people milling around them and just taking in the feel of this new place. St Andrews was the next stepping stone in her life, she knew that, and she hoped that with quiet determination to become a writer; would be able to do Malory Towers and St Andrews proud. This was a shy thought in the back of her mind, a thought that Darrell would keep to herself, she wasn’t sure if she would even tell Sally.

They sat for a while longer in the shaded courtyard before deciding that they should probably go and get some food before heading off to the debating society. It was easier to split up and meet at the society, so as the girls headed off to their halls, the boys stood for a moment.

“They are certainly very interesting girls,” David said pulling his jacket on as the temperature was dropping slightly. “Certainly most intelligent.” He grinned a little.

“Yes,” Julian said carefully swinging his bag up onto one shoulder. He turned on his heel and started walking the opposite way down the corridor towards their halls.


[1] See Five Fall into Adventure By Enid Blyton

[2] See Last Term at Malory Towers by Enid Blyton

This entry was posted in Fan Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

