Enid Blyton En Francais! by Ellie


Earlier in the summer I went to France for a week and whilst I was there, I picked up two Enid Blyton books that had been translated into French. I had previously discovered that my A-level French was sufficient to be able to read children’s literature – despite not really practising the language much in everyday life! – so I decided to give them a go

The first one was Le Club de Cinq aux sports d’hiver and the second one was La Famille Tant-Mieux en Croisière. I shall do a short review of each in turn, to avoid things becoming confusing!

Le Club de Cinq aux sports d’hiver (literally The Famous Five (do) winter sports) has been – as far as I can tell – directly translated from the English version, known as Five Get Into a Fix, which was first published in 1958. This translation was first published in 1964, so any French fans of Blyton had to wait quite a while for it! I’m not quite sure why the title is focused on the winter sports aspect of the story, rather than the adventure-y bit, but anyway. I don’t think I had actually read this particular Famous Five book in English before, so the story was entirely new to me.

5106FN1ZVKL._

The basic plot of the story is as follows: the Five are ill for most of the holidays with flu, so for the last week of the holidays, as they’re slowly recovering, Julian’s mother (who’s looking after them all) sends them off to stay on a farm in the Welsh mountains, on the advice of the local doctor. Once there, they become embroiled in the mystery of the big house whose elderly and eccentric owner has not been seen for some time and the mysterious lights and noises that seem to come from underneath the mountain on which they are staying. Thrilling stuff!

For anyone who has not encountered the French translations before, I should point out that the names of the Five have all been changed to sound more, well, French.

Julian – Francois

Dick – Mick (short for Michel)

Anne – Annie

George – Claude (Claudine)

Timmy – Dagobert

The names of other characters in the stories are also changed – in this book, for example, Mrs Jones, who owns the farm where the Five stay, becomes Madame Joncs, which essentially sounds like a Frenchified version of Jones. But I am somewhat baffled as to why they changed Julian’s name, because I always thought Julian was a French name anyway – or at least Julien is!

I had never heard of the name “Dagobert” before (it gets shortened to “Dago” several times in the story when the Five are talking to or about him) so I googled it and apparently it means  something like “bright day” and is Germanic in origin. I couldn’t quite work out why such an unusual name would have been chosen for Timmy, but apparently it was also the name of a long-ago king of Austria, who features in a French nursery rhyme called Le bon roi Dagobert, so I guess that’s how French children would be familiar with it.

In Five Get Into A Fix, the Five are sent to the Welsh mountains, but in Le Club de Cinq aux sports d’hiver they go to the mountains of either France or Switzerland – unfortunately I can’t remember which and I don’t have the book to hand, sorry! So obviously the translator(s) decided that Le Club de Cinq live in France, which I guess makes sense, but it’s a good job they have mountains in or near France, or the first part of the story would have to have been changed a bit!

The Five make friends with a strange, half-wild, young girl called Miette (Aily in the original version) who has a pet dog and a pet goat and lives right up in the mountains with her parents. She helps them solve the mystery of the uncanny lights and weird noises, as well as unravelling the enigma of the eccentric owner of the big house. I won’t say too much more about the story, just in case there are some people who haven’t read it yet!

The second book I read, La Famille Tant-Mieux En Croisière, is a translation of The Pole Star Family. I had never heard of the English title before, so it took me a while to work out what the original version was called, because the French version of this series gives the family the surname Tant-Mieux and this then features in all the titles of that series e.g. La Famille Tant-Mieux en péniche. However, the original, English, series re-names the family in each book, based on what adventure they’re having e.g. The Pole Star Family because Pole Star is the name of their cruise ship or The Caravan Family because they end up living in two caravans. Again, the characters’ names have been changed, although apart from that, I would imagine that it is pretty much a direct translation. I think (although I’m not certain!) that Tant-Mieux means something like even better, or much better, reflecting the family’s eternal optimism in the face of whatever difficulties they might encounter – these, it has to be said, are very few in any case!

The name changes are as follows:

Mike – Nicholas

Belinda – Elisabeth

Ann – Marijo

By complete coincidence, both this book and Le Club de Cinq aux sports d’hiver start with the family having been very ill with flu and thus missing out on most of their school holidays! Once again, a trip away is recommended to help the children re-build their strength, so their grandma decides to take all of them with her on a cruise! The story follows their journey from France to Portugal, Spain, Madeira, the Canaries and Morocco. They visit a local market, see flying fish and experience a storm at sea and of course enjoy every single minute of their adventures. I liked the fact that their grandma is involved in the story, albeit in a very minor role – it’s nice to see an older relative featuring in a children’s story – and Blyton’s descriptions are vivid and colourful – my favourite bit was probably when they see the flying fish – having seen some myself, I know how spectacular they are and I can just imagine the children being absolutely entranced by them.

I found out after reading the book that Blyton herself had done exactly the same cruise on a ship called Stella Polaris, so that would explain how she was able to describe the scenes in the book so clearly. Both books were fun stories to read, although the “mystery” in the Famous Five one did seem somewhat far-fetched, even for a Famous Five story! It was also nice to be reading about people going on holiday trips, because I was on holiday myself – although thankfully I hadn’t suffered from a severe attack of flu beforehand! Added to this the fact that I was reading them in another language and it felt like it was practically educational!

This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Enid Blyton En Francais! by Ellie

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Dagobert is an old-fashioned German name, not used since WW II.

    Like

  2. Francis says:

    Thank you Fiona – I quite like the name Francois! My grandmother was Annie so I like that name as well. By the way, very impressed at your French skills. Merci a Serge for his interesting links.
    Francis

    Like

  3. Lin says:

    Very informative. Thank you, Ellie.

    Merci Beaucoup.

    Like

  4. zanyzigzag says:

    Thank you Lin! 🙂 And thank you very much to Stef and Fiona for publishing my piece, I’m so glad people found it interesting 🙂

    Like

  5. Marie says:

    Dagobert is a very well known name for French children, because of the nursery rhyme “Le bon roi Dagobert a mis sa culotte à l’envers” which all children learn at some point.

    Like

  6. ReReadingBlyton says:

    I have been learning French for a while now and (following a suggestion from my teacher) my wife gave me the first five of the Les Club des Cinq for Christmas. The theory is that because I know the stories so well I can read them in French without having to ‘think and translate’ as I go, and it becomes more natural. We will see if it works! So far, I am about half way through ‘Treasure Island’. It is quite fun, almost like reading it for the first time ….

    Like

    • chrissie777 says:

      After 6 years of French lessons at high school, I went to the Côte d’azur on summer vacation 4 times in a row in the mid to late 70’s and discovered several “Le Club des cinq” paperbacks at the gas stations along the l’autoroute du sud. I bought the first 4 volumes of the FF and was happy that I could read them without a dictionary. It definitely helped me with maintaining my French. Was just thinking the other week that I should try to read them again. I also have one from the FFO & Dog books in French. The “Club des cinq” books have beautiful illustrations even though they are more modern than Soper’s. I still remember that Kirrin was called Kernach (which sounds like a place in Bretagne/Brittany) in the French FF versions.

      Like

  7. Serge Sohier says:

    I do not know what you think of the translation!
    There were several translators for 21 books … I know that the French text … There are small differences (adaptation to the French public)
    The illustrations you like it?
    You can see the differences between the French and English editions on my site, here:
    http://serge-passions.fr/c5_comparaison_tresor_ile.htm
    And for all the titles:
    http://serge-passions.fr/c5_comparaisons_presentation.htm

    (sorry for english, google translator)

    Like

  8. Hybrid Gal says:

    Super blog. I would like to buy at least 10 in French for my gr. 3 FI class. Renaud-Bray in Mtl. only had 4 that I purchased. SVP, please tell me where I can buy some more. Merci beaucoup.

    Like

  9. Serge SOHIER says:

    Attention to price 2 euros is the maximum acceptable!
    … but I do not know if it is easy to order from England!

    Like

Leave a Reply

