Monday 1st December


So it’s here, the dreaded (or celebrated) D month, and we’re in the middle of winter now so time to cuddle up with some good books and a lovely hot drink- hopefully in front of a fire if you’re lucky enough to have one!

So this week we have another audio review from Fiona, she’s going to look at Five Go to Mystery Moor. Our contributor this week is Chris, with an Adventurous Four review; how thrilling!

This week I think I shall either be giving you a the next chapter of our “New Year’s Dip” story (if you haven’t been reading it- shame on you! Catch up here!) or a review of the next book in the Adventure series, the Sea of Adventure, one of my favourite Adventure stories!

In other news, we have passed 90,000 blog views, which is wonderful and just goes to show that Enid Blyton can still gain an audience.

The next thing on my list of news, is that you should head over to the Two Points of View blog from tomorrow to see our Christmas Photo challenge! I shall be working from a list, while Fiona is making up her own ideas as she goes along!

My final, and rather saddening news to all those who don’t know, is that the wonderful Old Thatch Gardens (Blyton’s second and most famous home with her first husband) will no longer be opening their gardens to members of the public. This sad news was relaid to us by email a few days ago through Tony Summerfield at the Enid Blyton Society. However, we were very lucky to have been in such wondeful gardens and I, for one, am forever grateful that I got to experience the gardens more than most over the last few years and that I was able to converse for long periods with Jacky Hawthorne and became one of their regular faces. The Summer just won’t be the same without Old Thatch to visit, however, I’m  sure you’ll all join me in thanking Jacky for opening her wonderful gardens and to let it become such a special place to so many people.

And with that said, I will share with you, some of my favourite Old Thatch pictures from the years I have been able to visit.

This entry was posted in Blog talk, Old Thatch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday 1st December

  1. chrissie777 says:

    What a shame! Old Thatch was such a beautiful garden and we enjoyed the cake and tea as well. But we are thankful that we were able to experience it once.
    As I cannot find the thread by Tony in EBS that you’ve mentioned, I was wondering WHY Jackie Hawthorne decided to close it for good?

    Like

  2. Francis says:

    Thank you Stef for all those wonderful memories. I did love
    those cakes (and the garden itself!).
    Francis

    Like

  3. chrissie777 says:

    I just watched all your beautiful Old Thatch pics once more. They are great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

