Making Blyton’s Food: Shortbread Biscuits


Well well well! It seems I haven’t done a Making Blyton’s Food blog since April last year! What must I have been thinking? Make sure you go back over what I’ve already reviewed and made for you, and whet your appetites? I’m sure we all love a bit of good food that we hungrily devoured with our minds when we read the books!

I’ve taken this recipe from one of my mother’s old recipe books that has been repaired with parcel tape on the spine. Its called The Radiation New World Cookery Book, and the tag line on the title is A selection of proved recipes for use with Regulo New World Gas Cookers. So this volume is quite something. The first edition of it was printed in 1927! Not to mention that (according to the copy I have – which is my mother’s) it was reprinted a grand fifty ONE times. This copy is from 1961 and is possibly the oldest cook book I’ve ever handled.

Anyway, the recipe I did this morning is one I’ve been doing since I was little and Mum wanted to give me something to do on an afternoon. So at some point, Mum has converted the recipe from ounces to grammes, which as she doesn’t like using grammes, is quite nice.

So now the ingredients you need are:

  • 12oz or 340g of plain flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4oz or 115g of caster sugar
  • 8oz or 226g of butter or margarine

Method:

  1. Sift together the flour and salt.
  2. Add the sugar and fat (butter or margarine)
  3. Squeeze all together until they form a smooth dough
  4. Knead on a floured board
  5. Roll out  to 1/4 of an inch
  6. Cut into rounds with a 2 inch fluted cutter
  7. Place on ungreased baking trays – now I always grease my baking trays as it makes the biscuits come off the tray easier.
  8. Bake for 17 to 20 minutes until biscuits are firmish to the touch on gas mark 3 (but I use mark 4. Adjust as necessary!)

Then you should have yummy Blyton themed biscuits to share around the with lemonade and ginger beer. If you want to check that it is indeed a perfect Blyton snack then I think Five Go Adventuring Again is the best Blyton to read and reference the shortbread to, as the five are said to be munching shortbread as they search the old farmhouse. Which I think is a marvelous thing to do while exploring! Explorers should always had nice food for when they’re exploring. Don’t you agree?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Blyton’s Food: Shortbread Biscuits

  1. This looks like a treat.

    Like

  2. ReReadingBlyton says:

    Yummy! My earliest conscious memory is of my mother getting me to use a fork to prick holes in the shortbread before it went in the oven …. I must have been about three years old

    Like

  3. Francis says:

    Very impressive, Stef – love these old recipes.
    Francis

    Like

Leave a Reply

