First Monday of Spring


Yes, spring is finally with us in the northern hemisphere. Temperatures have risen by around two degrees and sunglasses have been deployed on at least one occasion. Long may it continue!

I rather messed up last week, I’m afraid. I ended up blogging for Saturday instead of Friday, which then caused me to get confused about what day it was and in the end I forgot to get Chris’s review uploaded. I will try harder this week!

Wednesday2 (3)

Having a third post of the week meant having to make a brand new template for this post, but it was worth it!

And for the first times in a while, I’ve actually made it out with my camera. A few times, in fact.

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to First Monday of Spring

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Lovely animal pics. Thank you! Are those seal-like creatures (above the owl) groundhogs?

    Like

    • pippastef says:

      Those are otters, Chrissie.

      Like

      • chrissie777 says:

        Thanks, Pippa. I thought otters are much slimmer and darker. I’ve watched some sea otters at the zoo in Germany. That’s why I didn’t recognize these as otters. They are very cute. Good photo!

        Like

        • fiona says:

          They are Asian short-clawed otters, a much smaller species than the ones you’d find in the wild in Britain or Europe. They also spend a lot more of their time on land and so are quite dry in that picture, making their fur lighter and fluffier.

          Like

          • chrissie777 says:

            Fiona, I didn’t know before that there were different kinds of otters in Europe. I still remember the book and also the movie based on the same book, “Ring of Bright Water”.

            Like

          • fiona says:

            There are at least thirteen different types of otter across the world. A couple of African species, a few Asian ones, some South American ones and also North American ones. We just have the one type here, the European otter but they can also be found across parts of Asia.

            Like

  2. Poppy says:

    I love the picture of the bird with it’s prey – that’s amazing! 🙂

    Like

  3. Francis says:

    I wish I could take wildlife photos of this standard, Fiona.
    Francis

    Like

Leave a Reply

