August Round Up


I have decided to try something new this month, having seen it on some of the other blogs that I read. A round up of what we’ve been reading, watching and doing. Naturally not all of it will be Blyton related, but I think it can be interesting to know what else Blyton fans read and do.


WHAT I READ IN AUGUST

  • Ghost Roads (The Gatekeeper Trilogy #2) – Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV tie-in
  • The Dark Compass (His Dark Materials #1) – Philip Pullman
  • Harry Potter and The Cursed Child – J. K. Rowling
  • Sons of Entropy (The Gatekeeper Trilogy #3) – Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV tie-in
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – audio book narrated by Stephen Fry
  • The Ragamuffin Mysteryreviewed here
  • Shakespeare’s Landlord (Lily Bard #1) – Charlaine Harris
  • Ships, Stings and Wedding Rings (Chronicles of St Mary’s #6.5) – Jodi Taylor
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – audio book narrated by Stephen Fry
  • Mystery in White – audio book written by J. Jefferson Farjeon
  • Shakespeare’s Champion (Lily Bard #2) – Charlaine Harris
  • Lies, Damned Lies and History (Chronicles of St Mary’s #7) – Jodi Taylor
  • Shakespeare’s Christmas (Lily Bard #3) – Charlaine Harris
  • The Demon Headmaster Takes Over (Demon Headmaster #5) – Gillian Cross
  • Return to Chaos – Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV tie-in
  • Real Fairiesreviewed here
  • Visitors – Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV tie-in

There are also a couple of things I haven’t finished yet

  • The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage which I’m blogging about
  • The Fellowship of the Ring – J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – audio book narrated by Stephen Fry

untitled-design-1


WHAT I’VE WATCHED

  • Hollyoaks (I watch this religiously)
  • The Good Wife starring Julianna Margulies, on Netflix
  • The Originals (spin off from the Vampire Diaries) also on Netflix
  • Only Connect – the quiz show on BBC2
  • The Olympics – I loved seeing how well team GB did and I’m looking forward to the paralympics next week.
  • The Adventure SeriesI reviewed Island of Adventure here

WHAT I’VE DONE IN AUGUST


WHAT STEF HAS READ

  • Harry Potter and The Cursed Child – J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne (This just made me even more determined to get tickets to see the show. A friend and I got some for August… 2017)
  • The Mystery of the Disappearing Catreviewed here
  • Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell – I love Rainbow Rowell, she is one of my favourite American authors and gets that perfect balance between real life, fantasy and hilarity.
  • Private Lives – Tasmina Perry

And her current reads:

  • Raising Steam  – Terry Pratchett – Because who doesn’t love a bit of Discworld and Terry Pratchett?
  • Crash Into You – Katie McGarry – My ‘easy trashy’ read of the month, easy to read, dip in and out of.
  • After Alice – Gregory Maguire
  • A Mindfulness Guide for the Frazzled – Ruby Wax – As my mind is fairly frazzled anyway I thought it was worth a go.
  • Career of Evil – Robert Galbraith aka J.K. Rowling

stefbooks.jpg


WHAT STEF HAS WATCHED

  • Five Get Into Trouble from the 70s series – part one and part two
  • Five Go Off to Camp from the 70s series – part one and part two
  • Various Episodes of QI, Mock the Week and Who Do You Think You Are? – I’m not very good at watching the TV at the moment, the most I’ve watched is the Olympics so reruns, easy watching is my go to.

WHAT STEF HAS DONE

  • Been to Derby for her goddaughter’s christening – Someone trusts me with their CHILD! Plus, she’s so adorable!
  • Reconnected with old friends – thats what christenings will do for you!
  • Been invited to TWO weddings
  • Had a some successful dates – we went bowling. He won!
  • Been forced to adopt the ‘new look’ for blog posts – She’s killing me here! Send help!;) Kidding Fiona!
  • Has ventured forth for blackberry picking in a hope of making some jam – My Blytonite is showing!

 

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Round Up

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Fiona and Stef, it’s always good to try something new.

    Many years ago when I still lived in Hamburg, Germany, there was a beautiful store owned by a Japanese man and his son. They sold all kinds of beautiful notebooks, diaries etc covered in silk with Japanese patterns/letters. I bought two of the more voluminous kind and at home sat down and created two book journals. Since 1967 I’m writing a diary where I also mention every movie I watch and every book I read. More than 4.000 books by now. There were months and years in my life when I was in my twenties and thirties and still was able to read very fast. During those years I read between 20 and 30 books per month (some of them children’s books and of course EB almost every month).

    I left some space in the beginning of the first of the two book journals, because I expected later on to run into people and possibly exchange with them what they read when they were little and maybe that way get reminded of more children’s books which I read as a child.
    But those 10+ empty pages did not last long, because I added more and more children’s books which I had read before 1967, especially after 1998 with the start of my Internet years and joining forums where we talked about such stuff.

    A few years ago when I discovered a beautiful chain of stores called Papyrus in the Natick Mall here in Massachusetts, I bought two new Japanese journals to replace my old shabby ones and copied all books since 1967 plus the ones I read from 1961 on when I started to read from my two old journals into the new journals in a more neat way. This time I left 20 pages empty at the beginning of the very first book journal. Who knows maybe I’ll recognize a few more children’s books titles from way back then?

    A few years ago I read a biography on Daphne DuMaurier’s life and it stated that she wrote down every book she read when she was a child.

    Around 1967/1968 my father gave me a small blue booklet, smaller than the usual note book that fits in a small purse. So I started making notes of every movie that I had watched at the movie theater from the time before 1967 and then started writing down every movie from that time on.
    When I worked for the movie archives in Hamburg between 1990 and 2002, there were months when I went to the movies 8 to 10 times (our employer paid for 3 free movie theater tickets per month for every employee), so on average I went more than 70 times per year to the movies.
    Movies like “Firelight” (Sophie Marceau, Stephen Dillane) and “While you were sleeping” (Sandra Bullock, Bill Pullman) I enjoyed so much that I watched them 3 times as long as they were running at the movie theater.
    I still have that little blue booklet and another one (vol. 2) and André and I still love to go to the movie theater, but it seems they make less and less appealing movies these days…

    Sorry, this has gotten way too long!

    Like

Leave a Reply

