September Round Up


Its that time of the month again, where we round up what we’ve been up to and what’s been going on behind the blogs and the computer! Hope you’ll join in and let us know a little of what you’ve been doing this last month as well!


WHAT I READ IN SEPTEMBER

I was terrible this month in regards to reading books. I just have been so preoccupied with other things I haven’t really given myself a chance. I still have pretty much the same reading list as last month.

  • Frozen in Time – Ali Sparkes which I reviewed here
  • Crash into You – Katie McGarry
  • Raising Steam – Terry Pratchett (audio book)

I haven’t started anything new but I have picked up several interesting books that I can’t wait to sit down and actually read;

  • Kidnap in the Caribbean (Laura Marlin #2) – Lauren St John
  • The One that Got Away  – Melissa Pimentel
  • Keep the Midnight Out – Alex Gray
  • The Last Letter from your Lover – Jojo Moyes
  • Cover Girl – Nic Tatano
  • The Special Dead – Lin Anderson
  • The Masked City; An Invisible Library Novel – Genevieve Cogman (I LOVE this series!)

There is a real mix there and I am very much looking forward to reading them, but I am going to try and finish the others first!

stefbooks2


WHAT I’VE WATCHED

  • This last month I’ve been making sure I caught the new episodes of Red Dwarf which seem to be an improvement on the previous series, which is good.
  • I’ve watched some episodes of the 1970s Famous Five, for review on the blog.
  • Mock the Week, I love going back over old episodes as well as watching the new ones and seeing how quickly opinions change and how stories develop and grow over time.
  • QI, now it is one of my favourite wind down programs, its good to just to have on in the background and even just listen to when you’re doing other things. (I wonder if anyone has realised it would make a very good radio show?)

WHAT I’VE DONE IN SEPTEMBER

What with the schools being back and being a school librarian as well as a public one, I have been busy trying to organise things between the library and the school, time tabling  the year seven’s library lessons, so I can show them what the library has to offer, as well as organising timetables and activities for the next three months.

I have also been having a busy social life. A couple of weeks ago, I went to see Sue Perkins (Of Great British Bake Off fame) do a reading and book signing at my local theatre. Now that was a truly epic night, I laughed so much and I even got to ask her a question during her Q &A section of the show, one she really enjoyed answering! I also got a high five off of her at the book signing because I thanked her for answering my question so well.

One thing that has made a dent in my reading time this month is having found someone new to date, so it’s been busy weekends, deciding on trips, and when we can see each other, but at the moment, I am happy to report its going very nicely, thank you. We even went to a funfair, which was super and I’ve been on the back of his motorbike (in proper gear!) for the first time – and I mean first time in general and not just with him so I was a little scared, but it was an exhilarating experience.

Unfortunately for me, September is a month tinged with sadness for me, as it is the anniversary of my Grandmother’s death. This year it has been four years since we lost her, and she played such a big part in my life it hurts to think of her sometimes, and the end of September is hard sometimes. However I have lots of people around me, supporting me and reminding me that she wouldn’t want be to be upset, and I’m incredibly lucky to have such loving friends and family. Always a negative to a positive. Always.

I think that rounds up my news for September. Please feel free to share your September round up with us in the comments, we would love to know. Fiona will be doing October’s round up next month, so look out for that!


WHAT FIONA HAS READ

  • Shakespeare’s Trollop (Lily Bard #4) – Charlaine Harris
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – Audio book narrated by Stephen Fry
  • Facing the Demon Headmaster (Demon Headmaster #6) – Gillian Cross
  • The Hunter (The Forbidden Game#1) – L. J. Smith
  • The Queen’s Nose – Dick King-Smith
  • The Chase (The Forbidden Game #2) – L. J. Smith
  • Escape From Mr Lemoncello’s Library – Chris Grabenstein
  • Obsidian Fate – Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV tie-in
  • The Kill – (The Forbidden Game #3) – L. J. Smith
  • Arsenic for Tea (Wells & Wong #2) – Robin Stevens
  • My Secret Admirer – Carol Ellis
  • The Accident – Diane Hoh
  • The Funhouse – Diane Hoh
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – audio narrated by Stephen Fry
  • Yes Sister, No Sister – Jennifer Craig

And what I haven’t finished yet:

  • The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage I’m still blogging about this
  • Dying in the Wool (Kate Shackleton #1) – Frances Brody
  • April Fools – Richie Tankerlsey Cusick

septround


WHAT FIONA HAS WATCHED

  • Hollyoaks (still haven’t missed an episode, though many have been watched on catch-up)
  • The Paralympics – Just amazing watching the super humans compete
  • Only Connect – this month was a good one as I was able to answer at least three questions on more than one show!
  • The Good Wife – I have run out of episodes unfortunately!
  • Red Dwarf – The cast are back for yet another series and I really liked the first episodes
  • The X-Files – resumed a marathon I started last year (now on season five)

WHAT FIONA HAS DONE

  • A lot of work behind-the-scenes on the blog, making older posts more attractive etc.
  • Celebrated my thirteenth anniversary with Ewan
  • Compiled an extremely long list of books I want to borrow from the library (including at least a dozen that have potential for reviewing…)

 

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to September Round Up

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Stef, that sounds wonderful :)! I’m very happy for you.
    Especially your bike experience sounds good.
    I went to Corsica on a motorcycle once (sitting behind my former first husband, this was in 1993), all the way from Hamburg, Germany, to the ferry in Italy.
    It gets boring after a few hours (especially on the Autobahn!), so I imagined my favorite EB books.
    One time I must have gotten so relaxed that I fell asleep. Fortunately my ex could tell (I was leaning on him) and stopped the bike and we had a break until I was awake again.

    Like

  2. chrissie777 says:

    Sorry, Fiona. I believe my computer is playing tricks on me. I could swear it said “Stef” at the very top, but now that I reread it again while looking for more things to comment on, I realized it was you. Please forgive me.

    Like

  3. chrissie777 says:

    One thing that will make a dent in my reading time this month is getting prepared for my best friends’s visit. She’s coming from Germany in 10 days and we plan lots of day trips to several New England states to enjoy the fall foliage, visit some outdoor museums and such. But first we’ll have a lot of house cleaning to do :(. And that is very time-consuming, especially with a dog and rather limited time. But I finished the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson and must say it was the reading experience of the decade! I will read next month the 4th book which David Lagercrantz wrote, I’ve heard good and bad things about it. For This month I might not find time to check the WoB blog or EBS, but will catch up in November.

    Like

  4. chrissie777 says:

    Thanks, Fiona :)!

    Like

  5. Francis says:

    It always goes to show Fiona and Stef are superwomen leaving ne grateful for their wonderful blogs!
    Francis

    Like

Leave a Reply

