March Round Up


The clocks have gone forward, meaning we lost a precious hour of sleep but on the plus side, spring is (apparently) here!

Dundee doing its best impression of spring


WHAT I READ IN MARCH

  • Doctor Turner’s Case Book – Stephen McGann
  • Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella
  • Bonding With Your Bump – Miriam Stoppard
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • The Bad Beginning (Series of Unfortunate Events #1) – audiobook narrated by Tim Curry
  • The Mystery of the Dinosaur Discovery (Adventure Island #7) – Helen Moss
  • How to Grow a Baby and Push it Out – Clemmie Hooper
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • The Mystery of the Black Salamander (Adventure Island #12) – Helen Moss
  • The Girl Who Cried Monster (Goosebumps #8) – R.L. Stine
  • The Children at Green Meadows – blogged about here and here
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • My Pregnancy 2017 – Jo Girling
  • The Mystery of the Secret Room (Adventure Island #13) – Helen Moss
  • All the Little Liars (Aurora Teagarden #9) – Charlaine Harris
  • The Animals of Farthing Wood – Colin Dann
  • Ramona the Pest (Ramona Quimby #2) – Beverly Cleary

As you can see I managed to fit in a lot more reading this month! I am aiming for 100 books this year so the more I read before July the better. It’s not like me to read books out of order I have to add – but the Harry Potters have been borrowed online from my library and there’s usually a waiting list so I just borrowed what I could get at the time! Similarly the Adventure Island books I just took what they had from my library as they were getting sold off.

I have also been reading books to the baby regularly, but I thought I would list those separately!

  • There’s an Awful Lot of Weirdos in Our Neighbourhood – Colin McNaughton
  • Lullabyhullaballoo – Mick Inkpen
  • The Tiger Who Came to Tea – Judith Kerr
  • Dear Zoo – Rod Campbell
  • Princess Smartypants Breaks the Rules – Babette Cole
  • Katie Morag Delivers the Mail – Mairi Hedderwick
  • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt – Michael Rosen
  • Katie Morag and the Two Grandmothers – Mairi Hedderwick
  • A Sky Full of Kindness – Rob Ryan
  • Katie Morag and the Tiresome Ted –  Mairi Hedderwick
  • Katie Morag and the Big Boy Cousins – Mairi Hedderwick
  • Tiddler : The Story-Telling Fish – Julia Donaldson
  • Dogger – Shirley Hughes
  • Guess How Much I Love You – Sam McBratney
  • Peace at Last – Jill Murphy
  • Katie Morag and the New Pier – Mairi Hedderwick
  • The Everywhere Bear – Julia Donaldson

So baby has ‘read’ as many books as I have this month! Many of these are my childhood favourites and others are new recommendations.

Current reads are:

  • Mischief at Midnight (Knight’s Haddon #2) – Esme Kerr
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry

WHAT I’VE WATCHED

  • Hollyoaks – still watching obsessively!
  • Red Dwarf – yet again, on Netflix
  • Land Girls – another one from Netflix though unfortunately they only have two out of the three series.
  • Call the Midwife – both the current series and also the first four again on Netflix
  • Logan – the final outing for Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. Maybe it was just my hormones but I found it very sad!
  • Only Connect – into the semi finals and getting nearly impossible to get an answer right.
  • Friends – it’s too easy to leave this on all afternoon in the background!
  • The Animals of Farthing Wood – after reading the book I’m now watching the BBC TV series from my childhood!

WHAT I’VE DONE

  • I have had my second scan, the 20 week one, and we were just in awe at how detailed it was. We got to see our baby wriggling around and all his organs and body parts as well – and everything looked great.
  • I then made Stef a birthday present using the scan photo as well.

  • I’ve done more baby shopping, though I haven’t gone mad! It’s mostly supermarket clothes and things from the Jack and Jill Market (a great business in Scotland that holds regular second hand baby and kids markets) and quite a few books as attested to above! We still don’t have any of the big things like a cot or pram.
  • I have also started organising things, I have moved all my Enid Blyton magazines and Journals into the living room cupboard to make space for baby things.
  • I have written some more blogs for later in the year while I’m on maternity leave.

WHAT STEF HAS READ

  • We are Wearing Out the Naughty Step – Mick Inkpen
  • Five Forget Mother’s Day – Bruno Vincent (reviewed here)
  • Nerve – Jeanne Ryan
  • Five Give Up the Booze – Bruno Vincent (reviewed here)

And her current reads:

  • A Secret Garden – Katie Fforde
  • Operation Goodwood – bu Sara Sheridan in an audiobook narrated by Penelope Freeman


WHAT STEF HAS WATCHED

My ‘watch’ list seems to be decreasing recently, I guess I just don’t make time for it like I did before. However, here is what I have watched:

  • Red Dwarf – Three episodes of series six, which my other half had on his iPad when we were on holiday.
  • Qi XL – the end of the current series with new host Sandi Toksvig and various repeats
  • The Royal Wardrobe with Lucy Worsely –  A fascinating look into all the fashion surrounding some of our most powerful monarchs.
  • Mock the Week –  always handy to watch when I’m having my lunch and want something light before work
  • And last but not least; Who Do You Think You Are? –  the most current series of celebrities exploring their genealogical roots.
  • Call the Midwife

WHAT STEF HAS DONE

To start it all off, I’ve turned a year older. I went out, had some nice times out with friends and family.

On my actual birthday I spent the day in Oxford with my friend, wandering around the streets, having a look around the wonderful buildings and then having a sumptuous cream tea!

I also went away with my other half for a long weekend  Milan, Italy! My first foray into another country in over ten years! We did a lot of walking and we took a lot of pictures!

The last thing, even if it wasn’t the best is that I managed to tear a muscle in my calf, and have spent the last couple of days on bed rest, trying to get it back to ‘normal’ so I can walk, go to work etc. Unfortunately it means I will not be taking part in a run I had scheduled to do this weekend, and its unlikely I’ll be back to Thai Boxing for a week or two! How gutting! Especially about the race – I had trained as much as possible so I would get a good time!

Hopefully I’ll be fit enough to do another one soon! Onwards and upwards for April huh?


This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

