June Round Up


Somehow it is July, and we have reached what will probably be my last monthly round up for a while.

I’ll be taking over from now on! – Stef


WHAT I READ 

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • The Teenager Who Came to Tea – Emlyn Rees
  • The Saucy Jane Family – which I have just finished comparing the text in
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • The Island of Dr. Libris – Chris Grabenstein
  • Welcome to Camp Nightmare (Goosebumps #9) – R. L. Stein
  • The Ghost Next Door (Goosebumps #10) – R. L. Stein
  • The Book of Fours (Buffy TV tie in) – Nancy Holder
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry

For the baby:

  • Owl Babies – Martin Wadell

And still on the go (most of the ones from last month I haven’t picked up again lately):

  • Blotto, Twinks and the Dead Dowager Duchess (Blotto and Twinks #2) – Simon Brett
  • The Zoo Book (which I wrote about here and here)
  • The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar – a Roald Dahl audiobook

And perhaps unsuprisingly I still haven’t started that pile of library books I have. Maybe I’ll get through them on my maternity leave before the baby comes!


WHAT I’VE WATCHED

  • More One Born Every Minute including the tough episodes where things didn’t go entirely to plan
  • Hollyoaks, as always
  • Taskmaster
  • Murder She Wrote. I’m on season 2 of 12 now!
  • The OA – a really weird series on Netflix
  • The Castle of Adventure – I’ve been reviewing episodes for the blog

WHAT I’VE DONE 

  • Packed my hospital bag and the baby’s too, and done a lot of washing of his things.
  • Organised the nursery a bit more.
  • Supported my mum, sister and two cousins doing the Pretty Muddy challenge.
  • Gone to aquanatal aerobics weekly, and swimming some weeks as well.
  • Stepped awkwardly off a pavement and ended up in A&E with a sprained ankle and bruised knee. Thanks to this I started my maternity leave a few days early!
  • Welcomed Stef to Dundee (as much as I could from the sofa) as she’s up to stay for a few days.

WHAT STEF HAS READ

  • Everything, everything – Nicole Yoon
  • Street Cat Bob – James Bowen
  • Empty Vessels – Marina Pascoe
  • The Mystery of the Hidden House – reviewed here and here [links]

Current reads:

  • Peggy and Me – Miranda Hart
  • Gena/Finn – Hannah Moskowitz
  • Raven Girl – Audrey Niffenegger


WHAT STEF HAS WATCHED

  • One Born Every Minute –  I’ve been watching along with Fiona. It’s quite informative.
  • Taskmaster – I have binged watched series four on catch up because I didn’t realise it was airing, so I went through and watched it on catch up.
  • Red Dwarf – My other half and I have been watching the show from the beginning, so it’s fun to go through the episodes from the start.

WHAT STEF HAS DONE

What have  I done? Good question!

  •  Traveled to Dundee – for Fiona’s baby shower at the end of June.
  • Walking –  I have done a lot of walking this month, to try and offset my weight management.
  • Went to a foam party – I went out with my other half and enjoyed a foam party. However I did swallow some and we ended up heading home early.
  • Bought a paddling pool – In that really hot weathered period, I managed to get my hands on a suitable paddling pool to enjoy in lieu of being anywhere near a beach.
  • And last but not least, A Trip down to Bournemouth Beach – Me and my other half went down to Bournemouth and spent some time enjoying the sun, sand and sea.

I think that’s all from me now! Lets hope I have more to tell you about next month!

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June Round Up

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Fiona, have a great time with Stef!
    Never heard of foam parties before!!!

    I’m skipping watching one DVD per day (which is very unusual for me) to make more time for reading since last Sunday, because Douglas Kennedy’s novels are extremely compelling. For my birthday next month I just ordered the four DK novels that I still don’t have as amazon.de often takes 6 weeks to get to the US. Tomorrow I’ll start reading another one called “State of the Union”. Today I’ll finish Kennedy’s novel “A Special Relationship” which takes place in London (mostly). That one was not as good, but maybe it will still get better on the remaining 100 pages?
    Kennedy’s most famous book is “The Big Picture”. His master piece is IMHO “The Pursuit of Happiness”. If you liked “The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit” by Sloan Wilson, you’ll enjoy “Pursuit”.

    We plan to go to the movies tomorrow for a matinee (here it’s 4th of July weekend and my husband has 4 days off :)) to watch a film called “Meghan Leavy” (sp?) about a K9 dog in Iraq. After having watched “A Dog’s Purpose” (with Dennis Quaid and Peggy Lipton) earlier this year (and a 2nd time on the flight to France) I’m looking forward to it. A friend said it’s very touching and we should bring a box of Kleenex.

    Like

  2. Francis says:

    Good luck, Fiona and thank you so much.
    Stef – we are in good hands and looking forward to more of your excellent blog.
    Fond regards
    Francis

    Like

Leave a Reply

