July Round Up


Well, I may or may not have done my last Monday post but this will definitely be my last monthly round up for a while!


WHAT I’VE READ

Despite being on maternity leave the whole month I haven’t found as much time for reading as I had hoped!

  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • Blotto, Twinks and the Dead Dowager Duchess (Blotto and Twinks #2) – Simon Brett
  • Why is This Night Different From all Other Nights? (All the Wrong Questions #4) – Lemony Snickett
  • The Zoo Book (reviewed in several parts)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry
  • High Hopes: My Autobiography – Ronnie Corbett

For the baby:

  • Each Peach Pear Plum – Janet and Allan Ahlberg
  • Five Minutes’ Peace – Jill Murphy
  • Sally and the Limpet – Simon James
  • Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes – Mem Fox
  • No Bed Without Ted – Nicola Smee

And still on the go (most of the ones from last month I haven’t picked up again lately):

  • Matilda – Roald Dahl audiobook narrated by Kate Winslet
  • The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar – Roald Dahl audiobook
  • Dead Before Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) – Charlaine Harris audiobook

So I got through some of my library books at least! I was hoping the Harry Potter audiobooks would keep me going up until the birth but I finished them too soon and thought it was too soon for a third re-listen so I’ve moved onto something new. I got through over 114 hours of audiobooks this month!


WHAT I’VE WATCHED

  • The Highland Midwife which sadly only had three parts.
  • Hollyoaks, as always
  • Murder She Wrote. Season three of twelve now!
  • The Designated Survivor on Netflix
  • The Castle of Adventure – I’ve been reviewing more episodes for the blog

WHAT I’VE DONE 

  • Had a baby shower and got lots of lovely books (and lots of predictions of when baby will arrive, some people have already been proved wrong.)
  • Went to St Andrews with Stef and hobbled about very carefully.
  • Had a pamper afternoon with Stef with face masks, hair masks and strange foot masks.
  • Worn hiking boots all month to support my sprained ankle.
  • Taken lots of naps.
  • Done my best to finish the reviews of The Zoo Book and The Castle of Adventure before I disappear.
  • Gone out to lunch with my mum several times (what else is there to do on Maternity leave?).
  • Supervised/helped Ewan put together all the nursery furniture and put up the pictures we had. The whole room is organised and ready now!

WHAT STEF HAS READ

Current reads:

  • Too Many Cooks – Marina Pascoe
  • The Ravenmaster’s Boy – Mary Hoffman
  • Peggy and Me – Miranda Hart


WHAT STEF HAS WATCHED

I haven’t really watched anything much this month. Everything just seems to have gotten away from me. I have listed what I gave watched below:

  • Top Gear: India Special – Top Gear is one of my guilty pleasures, and I haven’t got Amazon Prime to catch up on Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond’s latest show, The Grand Tour, so I settle for reruns. 
  • The Antiques Roadshow – Caught a couple of episodes while I was there off a week or so ago, and they are delightfully quaint and humorous.>
  • Red Dwarf – Still watching the old series of this show with my other half. 

WHAT STEF HAS DONE

So I have been quite a busy bee this month, one way and another.

  • A visit to Fiona, in which I played nursemaid for she had sprained her ankle the week before.
  • Had a pamper day with Fiona, with products from Lush to make sure that there was nothing to cause any issues with baby.
  • BBQ – even though we haven’t quite had the weather I have had two bbqs this month, one in Nottingham with some old friends and my goddaughter, and then with my work, in which I was able to just chill with my colleagues.

So not done that much either, so sorry for being boring. I will try and be better next month!

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July Round Up

  1. Francis says:

    Dear Fiona
    Thank you so much for all you have done.
    Good luck with birth and baby and I do hope you manage to do more posts – when you have the time!
    We will miss you.
    Fond regards
    Francis

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

