Monday


So it’s back to the real world for me today, the April holidays are officially over.

Unsurprisingly, I did some book buying while I was away! Only one Blyton though, a paperback Noddy which cost me all of 25p. I did get some other children’s books though, mostly vintage, to add to my growing collection.

The School at the Chalet – Elinor M. Brent-Dyer, The Mystery of the Midnight Ghost – Helen Moss, A Mystery for Ninepence – Phyllis Gegan, The School on the Moor – Angela Brazil and Noddy and his Car – Enid Blyton.

I’ve never read any Brent-Dyers or Angela Brazils but those names pop up a fair bit amongst Enid Blyton fans so I thought I’d give them a go when I spotted these books for £7 each.

I couldn’t resist A Mystery for Ninepence as the dustjacket looked so good, I’ve got a few more titles from the Collins Seagull Library (which did a fair few Blytons too) and this one was only £3.

The Mystery of the Midnight Ghost is the third book in the Adventure Island series, I have the second title too but I’m lacking the first which Stef reviewed for the blog a while back.

And of course, then there’s Noddy who I couldn’t resist despite not normally buying paperback reprints. For 25p though, it was just too much of  a bargain to leave behind.

I also saw this brilliant selection of Blyton’s in Fort William, though I didn’t buy any as they’re mostly reprints and I have most of them anyway.

DSCN4372

Anyway, I’ve rambled on too long already I think, so on to what’s coming up on the blog this week.

Wednesday I plan to find something good on the web to reblog for you, Friday I will be posting my next Malory Towers blog comparing an old and new edition and then on Sunday, Stef is hoping to finally get her jammy bun blog up (third time is the charm after all!)

And as usual, some photos. Quite a lot of photos really, as I took an awful lot while I was away!

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday

  1. Francis says:

    What fantastic photos – loved the one of the Oyster Catcher. Your children’s book collection
    must be very impressive.
    Francis

    Like

    • fiona says:

      It’s not that impressive really. Besides my few hundred Blytons I’ve got about one shelf of Lone Pines, Noel Steatfeilds and Collins books. Maybe I’ll add a photo of them on my next Monday post 🙂

      Like

  2. chrissie777 says:

    Adorable photos, especially the otter and the eels.
    Glen Nevis always reminds me of the fantastic book “The House in Hiding” by Elinor Lyon, one of my favorite non-Blyton children’s books and the first in a series if 7 or 8 volumes.

    Like

Leave a comment